Lessons from NaNoWriMo 2012

November is National Novel Writing Month and 2012 was my first NaNoWriMo experience. Since I had just handed off my first novel to an editor/writing coach and my beta readers for that were clamoring for book two, I needed incentive to get started on the requested sequel. While I waited to hear from the editor on what is now book one I thought I should see what the second title might look like. The entire process of NaNoWriMo, just writing at an all out pace, was so different from the very long process book one had taken (check out Beginnings, part two). Fifty thousand words in thrity days seems like a lot. IT IS. The suggested average number of words to write each day was 1,667. While that sounded reasonable there were days when my word count was either zero or less than 500. There were days when I wrote 4,000. However it was through this dash just to get words down that I discovered several things. First, in the effort to meet word counts I settled on writing individual scenes rather than write the story ‘from beginning to end’. This freed up my imagination in unexpected ways. Second, I realized the possibility that The Stone’s Blade was more than just a trilogy, and the storyline solidified the need for an open-ended series(side stories, background stories, etc are all possible – IF I want to do them). More surprising to me was that while madly writing scenes to be used in book two, some minor characters (barely mentioned in book one) popped up again in some very exciting and unexpected ways. I am still amazed that somehow plot hints/twists, characters, etc. were already in book one without my consciously having written them. Each has become vital in book two. A new character actually shocked me when she made her appearance in this draft of book two. By just smashing out scenes with a tight time line, no restraints on whether or not a scene will work or actually be used or really caring about the specifics, I have truly let the characters tell me what to write. It has been a freeing experience. I now have more ‘story’ to work with while I am in a semi-editing phase. There are many more scenes to write to smooth out transitions and develop characters and subplots. Overall, NaNoWriMo was exhilarating and I plan on competing in 2013 – two possibilities offer themselves as starting points – book three of The Stone’s Blade series or a stand alone title which came to me in a dream (no kidding!). I am planning to have book one, The Stone’s Blade: The Blood, published by the end of the year (2013) and book two, thanks to NaNoWriMo, to the editor by October 31st so I can be moving forward when November 1st dawns.

About TimberDark Writer

Simply, I am passionate about writing and dancing. I love reading, quilting and hunting. I have written stories since childhood. I have a degree in English, taught in a parochial school, substituted K-12, raised three daughters, coached and refereed youth soccer, square danced since I was seven, created and quilted award winning quilts. When not writing I assist my husband teach square dancing 3-4 times a week, co-coach an historical dance exhibition team and I hunt with my family and friends to fill the freezer. My first novel, "The Blood,"published in May 2014 is a multiple award winner and received a four star review by Foreward Clarion Review in May 2016. The second novel, "The Balance" was published September 1, 2016. These are the beginning installments of the science fiction/fantasy crossover series, "The Stone's Blade." Book three, "The Blades" is under construction. My TimberDark Writer blog is a part of my writing process. You are invited to share in the journey.
This entry was posted in Ruminations. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

