Beginnings – part two

After a favorable response from Southwest Writers Conference I considered the real possibility that The Stone’s Blade was publishable. I worked hard to finish the full manuscript. What was once a stand alone piece became a series after my daughter, Kristina, read it at my request. I felt that there was something missing or something more that could be done but I couldn’t quite figure it out. Her simple comments opened up a completely new batch of ideas and transformed the story line. 

Now I had so much I could do and the side and back stories are fascinating. Of course to integrate her ideas I had to revisit the manuscript and make innumerable changes. All of which were fun and I then rushed to bring about the conclusion of the first book, now titled, The Blood. I gave this “new” manuscript to Kristina to read and she informed me that I had rushed through the last three chapters and had to go back and rewrite them. That was completed almost three years ago and I started sending it out to agents. I spent the better part of two and a half years working on query letters, brief synopses, and researching agents. Most of these queries seemed to disappear into a black hole of no responses. A very few came back with standard “not interested” comments or “not accepting any new authors”. I finally located one who seemed to be perfect. According to her website she wanted a science fiction/fantasy with a romantic element. I spent six weeks researching her and writing/rewriting what I thought would be the perfect cover letter for my submission. What did I get back? “Sorry, I don’t work in that genre.” I checked her website and my submission several times to try and figure out where I went wrong.

After a few weeks fuming I decided that I would publish it myself. At least then I could share a few copies with family and friends. What was interesting was that as soon as I decided to self publish things changed; that was just over one year ago.

Since then I have joined Colorado Independent Publishers Association (www.CIPA.com) and connected with an amazing group of intelligent and supportive people. I now have an editor who is coaching me through editing this first manuscript so those that come after it will be better. I have a book cover designer who is excited about the story series and has great ideas. I am so fortunate to be where I am today.

At this time I am about half way through the editing process (for the fifth and what feels like the most intense time). If any one thinks that editing is a one time deal they’ve got their head buried. I am learning so much and actually enjoying it!  

I must do justice to the characters who have stayed with me over the years by bringing their story to life. To make this the best possible effort, I will continue to work and write and learn about this entire process. I am hoping The Stone’s Blade: the Blood will be published by the end of 2013.

About TimberDark Writer

Simply, I am passionate about writing and dancing. I also love reading, quilting and hunting. I have written stories since childhood. I have a degree in English, taught in a parochial school, substituted K-12, raised three daughters, coached and refereed youth soccer, square danced since I was seven, and created and hand quilted award winning quilts. When not writing I assist my husband teach square dancing 3-4 times a week, co-coach an historical dance exhibition team and I hunt with my family and friends to fill the freezer. I have two award winning novels. "The Blood,"published in May 2014 is a multiple award winner, placing third in both the Science Fiction and Fantasy categories of the 2014 EVVY Awards, from Colorado Independent Publishers Association and received a four star review by Foreword Clarion Review in May 2016. The second novel, "The Balance", was published in September 2016, placed second in Science Fiction in the 2017 EVVY Awards. Both books are available on Amazon and in the young adult fiction shelves at The Tattered Cover Book Store in the Denver, Colorado metro area. Book three of the series, "The Blades" is under construction. My TimberDark Writer blog is a part of my writing process. You are invited to share in the journey. Contact me at Allynn@Timberdark.com or on my Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/TimberdarkPublications/
This entry was posted in Ruminations. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

