Intriguing local author

It was suggested by a member of my NaNoWriMo write-in group that I check into a local (Denver) author, Hilari Bell, who writes mystery, fantasy, etc for teens and YA. I’m currently reading her ‘A Knight and Rogue’ series. They are quick reads, a surprise for me as they are in 1st person from the two main character view points.  For me, first person is a stumbling block. I have a difficult time reading stories in first person and I have no inclination to write in first person. So, again, I was surprised at how quickly I got caught up in the stories and most especially the characters. Ms Bell has done a superlative job of keeping the story moving while alternating between the two view points. I am almost done reading the third book in her “A Knight and Rogue’ series. I hope to read several more stories by Ms Bell. Her intriguing use of first person from multiple view points has me thinking – whether this is a good thing or not I do not know. But, I am enjoying the reading and that is a good thing.

I have also had the pleasure of getting to her website, Facebook page and blog. Perhaps in the near future I will get the chance to meet Ms Bell in person. I am interested in her process, where she gets the ideas and how she decides to present the stories. I suggest that you pick up one of her books and jump into her world.

Leave a Reply

