Stressful Ruminations or ignoring the un-ignorable

Too many decisions to make while the rest of the world is rushing up pounding down my door demanding that other responsibilities be attended to. I did just vacuum and feed the fish (for the first time in three days), the bird feeder is full and the laundry is started. So, all those chores are out of the way. But those are the little responsibilities. The much bigger ones are the ones that pop into my head while trying to write. I can be going along just fine and wham! Questions as to the advisability of my leaving a paying job 18 months ago was such a brilliant idea. Very seriously considering finding a way to more reliably help build our nest egg – or assist in a child’s finances. These concrete concerns are almost overwhelming my nebulous creativity outside of the stuff that needs to get done on book one.

So much to learn about getting a book printed or converted to electronic form. So many questions that I don’t know I even should be asking. For example: Am I required to obtain a sales tax license because I want to sell printed copies of my book at signings or at family gatherings? Do you know what the sales tax laws are in Colorado? After twelve years in a CPA office I do and it’s not easy by any means. Should I bow to technology and get a basic iPhone so I can use a ‘square’ device for credit card purchases? How do I get a shopping cart set up on my website? To which account should it go? Should I use Paypal? Oh, that reminds me, the website needs to be updated. Gad, what next?

Oh, yes, now I remember. Choose a printer, get proofs done and manuscript converted for e-book. Decide how many printed copies I need to get the ball rolling. Set up signings (no, that can wait another month). Decide which categories to enter in the upcoming awards contest. Let’s see there’s cover design and editing (those are for sure); then there are two categories in the fiction list: fantasy and science fiction. Can I enter The Blood in both? What about romance?

All this and I should be working on book two, The Balance. A bit stuck there too. Though I did hit on the action needed between scenes. That has been fun to write (still writing) and it would go much smoother if I wasn’t constantly being bothered by everything else. Just want to hide and write and hope that my world does not implode while I try to ignore the un-ignorable.

About TimberDark Writer

Simply, I am passionate about writing and dancing. I love reading, quilting and hunting. I have written stories since childhood. I have a degree in English, taught in a parochial school, substituted K-12, raised three daughters, coached and refereed youth soccer, square danced since I was seven, created and quilted award winning quilts. When not writing I assist my husband teach square dancing 3-4 times a week, co-coach an historical dance exhibition team and I hunt with my family and friends to fill the freezer. My first novel, "The Blood,"published in May 2014 is a multiple award winner and received a four star review by Foreward Clarion Review in May 2016. The second novel, "The Balance" was published September 1, 2016. These are the beginning installments of the science fiction/fantasy crossover series, "The Stone's Blade." Book three, "The Blades" is under construction. My TimberDark Writer blog is a part of my writing process. You are invited to share in the journey.
This entry was posted in Ruminations and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

