Trad vs Indie Publishing – which one would you choose?

Hilari Bell expresses some of the same feelings, good and bad, I have been having about the independent publishing business. Her dual experience with traditional and independent publishers is enlightening. The same things happen but when an author is able to be so close to the process (through doing it independently) they often come out of the experience with a better understanding of  the why’s and why not’s. Read her post on this topic: http://thewildwriters.com/what-to-pack-when-taking-the-road-less-traveled.

I am finding the experience of being fully involved to be invigorating and challenging. It is more expensive on the outset but with a great support group I hope to do more than break even, though that is what I  plan on for the first book. Like Ms. Bell, I am excited to see what the next book(s) I write will bring into my life. I have already experienced a large learning curve – still on that ride! – and it has been and should be exhilarating. I know there will be disappointments but the upside is that the rewards and successes of doing this on my own will far out weigh those downs. Plus I have gotten the chance to meet some remarkable and talented people.

Have you had the opportunity, like Ms. Bell, to publish in both Traditional and Indie processes? Which has been more fulfilling – emotionally and financially? Stay close by and follow this roller coaster ride of an author doing it her way.

About TimberDark Writer

Simply, I am passionate about writing and dancing. I also love reading, quilting and hunting. I have written stories since childhood. I have a degree in English, taught in a parochial school, substituted K-12, raised three daughters, coached and refereed youth soccer, square danced since I was seven, and created and hand quilted award winning quilts. When not writing I assist my husband teach square dancing 3-4 times a week, co-coach an historical dance exhibition team and I hunt with my family and friends to fill the freezer. I have two award winning novels. "The Blood,"published in May 2014 is a multiple award winner, placing third in both the Science Fiction and Fantasy categories of the 2014 EVVY Awards, from Colorado Independent Publishers Association and received a four star review by Foreword Clarion Review in May 2016. The second novel, "The Balance", was published in September 2016, placed second in Science Fiction in the 2017 EVVY Awards. Both books are available on Amazon and in the young adult fiction shelves at The Tattered Cover Book Store in the Denver, Colorado metro area. Book three of the series, "The Blades" is under construction. My TimberDark Writer blog is a part of my writing process. You are invited to share in the journey. Contact me at Allynn@Timberdark.com or on my Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/TimberdarkPublications/
This entry was posted in Ruminations and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

