The EVVY Awards – “The Blood” is a finalist!

EVVY Award logo 2014Basically, I can state: my science fiction/fantasy book, The Blood: The Stones Blade, #1, is a finalist in at least two of the five categories in which it was entered. I am still waiting on the results for the other three categories as to whether it made it through to be a finalist. The award ceremony is just over two weeks away on August 23, 2014 and I can’t seem to hold back and be patient. I have been checking the CIPA website once a day though I was told it could be as late as the 15th before the other category finalists are announced.(That’s a whole eight days from now!) I’m not sure I can wait that long!

I am delighted to announce that Nathan Fisher of Sci-Fi Book Cover Designer (www.scifibookcoverdesigner.com) entered The Blood for his cover design and his interior design. Congratulations to Nathan for designing one of the most beautiful covers I’ve seen on the shelves. There is so much to see on that cover, too! So many little details waiting to be changed just a bit for when book two, The Balance, is ready. Make sure you have a paperback copy so you can enjoy this fine piece of artwork. If you are looking for a cover artist for your upcoming science fiction or fantasy piece, check out his website and contact Nathan. If you believe in what you have written make every effort to have it covered in a piece of art.

When I dropped off the books to be dispersed to the judges, the publisher, Joe, who was collecting the 270+ entries, was impressed with the unique interior design as well. He wondered aloud if Nathan would be upset if Joe used a similar technique for the chapter heading design on a book his company was designing. I hope that Nathan’s efforts garner him two awards – His sense of the story and knowledge of sci-fi and fantasy readers and their expectations have given me the opportunity to entice the reader visually as well as enhancing the text at the opening of each chapter. Nathan has figured out how to make my imagination visible. That is the gift of a true artist.

My editor, Melanie Mulhall of Dragonheart Editing and Writing, is expecting to announce that her entry of The Blood in the editing category will also be a finalist. She is meticulous and exacting – almost to the point of frustration on my part. However, she is not just an editor. Melanie is a writing coach with amazing talent and she often connects with her clients on an intuitive or spiritual level. An added benefit is that she enjoys a great cup of tea and I’ve been pleased to share cinnamon orange tea from Awful Annie’s with her. If you don’t know what that means you need to read not just the story but the acknowledgment. Her website is http://www.DragonheartWritingandEditing.com).

The last two categories I entered The Blood in were Fiction: Science Fiction and Fiction: Fantasy. Since it is a crossover between the two genres I had to cover my options by entering in both. Whether it wins or not I am delighted that the Colorado Independent Publishers Association continues to support self-publishing with these awards. One of the longest running awards for independent publishing, The EVVY Awards, bring to light hidden jewels in the publishing business. Come along for the ride. Own The Blood before it wins it’s first award. Then you can say, “I was one of the first.” You have until August 23, 2014 so get it now! Click http://alturl.com/fbn43 to get your copy and let me know what you think.

About TimberDark Writer

Simply, I am passionate about writing and dancing. I love reading, quilting and hunting. I have written stories since childhood. I have a degree in English, taught in a parochial school, substituted K-12, raised three daughters, coached and refereed youth soccer, square danced since I was seven, created and quilted award winning quilts. When not writing I assist my husband teach square dancing 3-4 times a week, co-coach an historical dance exhibition team and I hunt with my family and friends to fill the freezer. My first novel, "The Blood,"published in May 2014 is a multiple award winner and received a four star review by Foreward Clarion Review in May 2016. The second novel, "The Balance" was published September 1, 2016. These are the beginning installments of the science fiction/fantasy crossover series, "The Stone's Blade." Book three, "The Blades" is under construction. My TimberDark Writer blog is a part of my writing process. You are invited to share in the journey.
This entry was posted in Ruminations and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

