“The Blood” is a Multi-Category Winner!!

Such an exciting event on Saturday at the Colorado Independent Publishers Association’s EVVY 20th Annual Awards. My book “The Blood: The Stone’s Blade, #1” was nominated in four categories of the awards. I am delighted to share with you that I took third place in Science Fiction and third place in Fantasy. The cover design received a merit award.

2014 EVVY Fantasy - the Blood

3rd Place EVVY Award for Fantasy

It is an unexpected honor. Ones I have perhaps hoped for but have difficulty believing that any one outside of immediate family or close friends really honestly enjoys the stories I write. Especially since this is my first novel length work. My editor, Melanie Mulhall, my proofreader, Helena Mariposa, and my cover & interior designer, Nathan Fisher, all have told me I have something special to offer readers with the stories of Ani, Kela, Taryn, and Renloret (and perhaps others).

3rd Place EVVY Award for Science Fiction

3rd Place EVVY Award for Science Fiction

2014 EVVY Merit for Cover Design - The Blood

Merit Award for Cover Design – 2014 EVVY Awards

If you want to read good stories – which just won a couple of prestigious awards – then get started by reading The Blood: The Stone’s Blade, #1. It is available at the three locations of Tattered Cover in Denver, the Bookworm in Gunnison, McDonald Books in Estes Park, and on Amazon as a paperback and an e-book.

Start your own Stone’s Blade series collection today. With your purchase of the paperback, you will have a work of art on your shelf. This award winning cover has many subtle items to hold your interest. Did you know that cover designer, Nathan Fisher, designed a special “blade” font specifically for this series? Which planet is shown on the back cover? Which is on the front? How do you know? Why are the O’s in Blood green? Send me your answers in the comment section. The first five to get all four correct will win special EVVY Award stickers to place on the cover of their book.

 

 

 

About TimberDark Writer

Simply, I am passionate about writing and dancing. I love reading, quilting and hunting. I have written stories since childhood. I have a degree in English, taught in a parochial school, substituted K-12, raised three daughters, coached and refereed youth soccer, square danced since I was seven, created and quilted award winning quilts. When not writing I assist my husband teach square dancing 3-4 times a week, co-coach an historical dance exhibition team and I hunt with my family and friends to fill the freezer. My first novel, "The Blood,"published in May 2014 is a multiple award winner and received a four star review by Foreward Clarion Review in May 2016. The second novel, "The Balance" was published September 1, 2016. These are the beginning installments of the science fiction/fantasy crossover series, "The Stone's Blade." Book three, "The Blades" is under construction. My TimberDark Writer blog is a part of my writing process. You are invited to share in the journey.
This entry was posted in Ruminations and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

